Repertoire

The opinion that there is little literature for piano duo is as widespread as it is wrong. This misconception is also fuelled by the fact that only a fraction of the duo’s repertoire is actually available on the market. Most of the literature, by contrast, is slumbering – like Sleeping Beauty – in libraries and private collections.

That’s why the Duo Egri & Pertis have been working systematically for many years to raise the hidden treasures of this musical genre piece by piece and to revive them. And the success proves the duo right, as numerous first recordings, awards and the uniformly positive echo of the professional world prove.

The active repertoire of the duo Egri & Pertis now comprises over 250 works by around 120 composers and is constantly being expanded. It ranges from the Baroque to the premier of contemporary works, with the duo mastering the entire œuvre for piano duo from some composers.

The “favourites” included in its concert programmes are penned by Schubert, Liszt, Chopin, Brahms, Grieg, Dvorak and Gershwin.

The Duo Egri & Pertis is perhaps the only ensemble today that has all of Liszt’s opera fantasies as well as all of S. Thalberg’s four-handed works in its repertoire.

Despite this already considerable volume, the duo’s repertoire is not only captivating because of its size, but also because of its unique content. In addition to the standard works (by Mozart, Schubert, Brahms, Rachmaninov, etc.), this repertoire includes unknown or unpublished works by famous composers (Mendelssohn, Liszt, Saint-Saëns, Franck) as well as works by composers who have been unjustly forgotten or disregarded.

All this results from years of research, at the same time opening the way to new programme designs.

Repertoire

repertoireDie Meinung, dass es nur wenig Literatur für Klavierduo gibt, ist ebenso weit verbreitet wie falsch. Dieser Irrtum wird auch dadurch genährt, dass im Handel tatsächlich nur ein Bruchteil des Duorepertoires erhältlich ist. Der größte Teil der Literatur schlummert hingegen – Dornröschen gleich – in Bibliotheken und Privatsammlungen.

Deshalb arbeitet das Duo Egri & Pertis seit vielen Jahren systematisch daran, die verborgenen Schätze dieser Musikgattung Stück für Stück zu heben und zu neuem Leben zu erwecken. Und der Erfolg gibt dem Duo Recht, wie zahlreiche Erstaufnahmen, Auszeichnungen und das durchwegs positive Echo der Fachwelt beweisen.

Das aktive Repertoire des Duos Egri & Pertis umfasst mittlerweile über 250 Werke von rund 120 Komponisten und wird laufend erweitert. Der Bogen spannt sich vom Barock bis zur Uraufführung zeitgenössischer Werke, wobei das Duo von einigen Komponisten das gesamte Œuvre für Klavierduo beherrscht.

Die “Favorits” in Konzertprogrammen stammen aus der Feder von Schubert, Liszt, Chopin, Brahms, Grieg, Dvorak und Gershwin.

Vielleicht ist das Duo Egri & Pertis das einzige Ensemble heutzutage, das alle Opernfantasien von Liszt, sowie alle vierhändigen Werke von S. Thalberg in seinem Repertoire hat.

Trotz des schon mengenmäßig beachtlichen Umfanges besticht das Repertoire des Duos nicht allein durch seine Größe, sondern wird vor allem durch seine inhaltliche Charakteristik einzigartig. In diesem Repertoire findet man außer den Standardwerken (von Mozart, Schubert, Brahms, Rachmaninow, usw.) sowohl unbekannte oder unveröffentlichte Stücke berühmter Komponisten (Mendelssohn, Liszt, Saint-Saëns, Franck), als auch Werke zu Unrecht vergessener oder unbeachteter Komponisten.

All das ist das Ergebnis jahrelanger Forschungsarbeit, die gleichzeitig den Weg zu neuen Programmgestaltungen öffnet.